How are Naturopathic physicians regulated?

Currently, 15 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands have licensing laws for Naturopathic physicians. Kansas and Minnesota have enacted registration laws for Naturopathic physicians. In these states, Naturopathic physicians are required to graduate from a four year, residential naturopathic medical school and pass extensive postdoctoral board examination in order to receive a license. Licensed Naturopathic physicians must ful-fill state mandated continuing education requirements annually, and have specific scope of practice defined by their state’s law. The jurisdictions that currently have regulatory boards permitting the practice of naturopathic medicine are as follows:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Conneticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington